Short Term Study Abroad Teleclass (Free)

Missy Gluckmann, Melibee Global Ed Consulting
Cate Brubaker, PhD from Small Planet Studio

Please join me and Cate Brubaker, PhD (from www.smallplanetstudio.com) for a free teleclass on “The Top 5 Missteps in Short-Term Study Abroad Programming.” Cate is a talented cross-cultural trainer that I have been working with over the past few months – she, too, is a big believer in collaboration.  Please be sure to poke around her website – it has some great resources!

Here is the information from Cate’s website:

“This teleclass is the third in a year-long series of free classes for intercultural educators. Each class is hosted by Small Planet Studio in collaboration with SIETAR-USA (Society for Intercultural Education, Training and Research) and will feature a guest speaker. I’m thrilled that Missy Gluckmann of MelibeeGlobal.com is joining us this month to talk about short-term study abroad.”

According to the Institute of International Education’s Open Doors Report for 2008/09, nearly 55% of study abroad programs were short-term. Although this number decreased ever so slightly from 07/08, short-term study abroad has been, for many years, the fastest growing model of program delivery.

Creating an effective and appropriate short-term program requires a great deal of planning. Unfortunately, the level of attention required often does not take place, resulting in the program not reaching enrollment goals and/or the student, faculty, staff and institution failing to work efficiently, wasting funds and experiencing disappointment.

In this teleclass, Missy will discuss the top 5 missteps in short-term program planning and how they impact faculty, staff, students and institutions, and the reputation and sustainability of short-term program development.

In this 60-minute teleclass, Missy will:

  • Frame the discussion to illustrate the unique challenges of short-term study abroad program planning.
  • Discuss the top 5 missteps that occur and their implications.
  • Offer suggestions for improvement in short-term program development.

This free 60-minute teleclass will take place on Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 3 pm Eastern/2 pm Central/1 pm Mountain/12 pm Pacific.

All you need to participate in the live class is a phone.

We hope you’ll join the live session, but since we know some people can’t (time zones, schedules, and all that), a recording of the teleclass (plus a handout + bonus resources) will be posted on the class web page a few days after the live call.

In Summary:

What: 60-minute teleclass + handout + call recording

When: Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 3 pm Eastern/2 pm Central/1 pm Mountain/12 pm Pacific

Where: On our teleconference line

CLICK here to register for the TELECLASS!

CLICK HERE for details on the professional development seminar in NY that Melibee Global and Purchase College (SUNY) are hosting in June.

 


  • marshall

    Italy burn in hell!!!